## URGENTLY CALL / WRITE THE AUTHORITIES TO STOP VIOLENCE AT GOVINDPUR VILLAGE -1ST JULY 2013

Dear Friends,

From 28<sup>th</sup> June 2013 onwards, the government of Odisha again started the forceful destruction of our beetle vineyards in Govindpur village of Jagatsinghpur district, Odisha. At least 20 persons including Mr. Tuna Baral, Mr. Tofan Mohanty, Ms. Shantilata Swain were injured in a police lathi-charge who are opposing the forceful land acquisition for POSCO. The police has taken one of PPSS leader Mr. Kalpataru Mantri of Govindpur village.

The Jagatsinghpur Superintendent of Police P. Satyabrata Bhoi and his 10 platoons (300 personnel) of police force beaten up elder persons, women and children who opposed betel vine demolition. They acquired land without consent of the farmers. Some of the protesters attempted suicide by consuming poison at the land acquisition spot, police took them into custody for some hours. As you know the state government earlier took our president Mr. Abhya Sahoo into the custody in order to use force for acquiring our land.

This is how the chief minister of Odisha defines the peaceful land acquisition process.

Today, the police operation may resume any time. The representatives of political parties and social movements have already reached at the Govindpur village to support the people.

At this juncture, we urge you to start writing and calling the following authorities to stop this forceful land acquisition.

Meanwhile attaching herewith the press release and link of a report produced by the International Human Rights Clinic (IHRC) of the New York University School of Law and International Network for Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ESCR-Net). The report appeal to Government of India and POSCO to suspend the project and end to abuses "before they become even more catastrophic in scale. We are conveying our gratitude to these institutions for highlighting the truth and demanding the suspension of the project.

Kindly circulate this mail widely.

In Solidarity,

**Prashant Paikary** 

Spokesperson, POSCO Pratirodh Sangram Samiti

Mobile no-09437571547

E-Mail - prashantpaikary@gmail.com

You can call/write to the following:

1. Naveen Patnaik

Chief Minister, Odishas

Tel. No.(O) 011 91 674 2531100,011 91 674 2535100,

011 91 674 2531500, Epbax 2163

Tel. No.(R) 011 91 674 2590299, 011 91 674 2591099,

011 91 674 2590844, 011 91 674 2591100,

Fax No- (91)6742535100

E Mail: <a href="mailto:cmo@ori.nic.in">cmo@ori.nic.in</a>

- 2. Dr. S.C. Jamir, Governor of Odisha, Fax No- (91)6742536582
- 3. Shri Jugal Mohapatra , Chief Secretary, E-mail: <a href="mailto:csori@ori.nic.">csori@ori.nic.</a>

Phone no - 0674 - 2536700

0674 - 2534300

0674 - 2322196

Fax No - 0674 - 2536660

- 4. S.K. Mallick , District Collector, Jagatsinghpur, Contact number 09437239444, Fax no -: (91)6724220299
- 5. P. Satyabrata Bhoi, Superintendent of Police, Mobile no-09437094678, dmjsp@ori.nic.in
- 6. Dr Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of India

Tel no-+9111-23016857

e mail: manmohan@sansad.in

- 7. Sonia Gandhi: Tel Phone no (91)11-23014161, (91)11-23012656, Fax-(91)112301865, soniagandhi@sansad.nic.in,
- 8. Chairperson, National Human Rights Commission of India, Faridkot House, Copernicus Marg, New Delhi 110 001, Tel: +91 11 230 74448, Fax: +91 11 2334 0016, Email: <a href="mailto:chairnhrc@nic.in">chairnhrc@nic.in</a>
- 9. Shri. V.Kishore Chandra Deo

Minister of Tribal Affairs

Ministry of Tribal Affairs,

Room No. 400 'B' Wing, Shastri Bhawan,

New Delhi- 110001

vk.deo@sansad.nic.in

10. Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan

Minister of Environment & Forests

Ministry of Environment & Forests

Paryavaran Bhawan,

CGO Complex, Lodhi Road

New Delhi-110003

mosefgoi@nic.in